top of page
Merger Sunday Children's Time_edited.jpg

Our Team



Rev. Dr. Tom Bryson

Tom preaches, leads worship, teaches and provides pastoral care alongside our pastoral staff. Tom studied at Mississippi State University, and holds a Masters of Divinity from Columbia Theological Seminary and a Doctorate of Ministry from McCormick Theological Seminary.


Tom and his wife, Ashley live in Hoover with their two children, Michael and Henry where they enjoy cheering on the Mississippi State Bulldogs, fishing, and spending time with extended family.



Rev. Leanne
Pearce Reed

Leanne preaches, leads worship, teaches and provides pastoral care alongside our pastoral staff. Leanne studied at Georgetown University, and holds a Masters of Divinity from McCormick Theological Seminary and a Masters of Education in Counseling from the University of Montevallo. 


Leanne and her husband, Mark, live in Homewood with their two teenage sons, Thomas and Adam. Leanne enjoys reading, cooking, traveling, and trail running.


Parish Associate

Rev. Dr. Mary Porter

Mary leads worship and works closely with our Congregational Care Committee and pastoral staff providing pastoral care to our congregation.


Director of Music

Dr. Larry Hardin

Larry oversees our music ministry, directing the Chancel Choir during our 11 am worship service. Larry studied Music at Samford University and holds a Masters of Music Education from Samford University, and a Doctorate of Education in Music Education from the University of Alabama. 


Larry and his wife, Gail, live in Alabaster and enjoy gardening/landscaping, and raising Daisy, their beagle puppy.



David Renaker

David plays the organ at our 11 am worship service, accompanying our Chancel Choir, and provides musical leadership for weddings, funerals, and other special services. David studied at Auburn University and holds a degree in Church Music, Organ Performance. 


David lives in Birmingham, and recently retired as Senior Vice President at Alabama Central Credit Union.


Church Administrator

Betsy Murphy

Betsy oversees our facilities, coordinates church communications, and serves as a welcoming face to all who visit Southminster. Betsy and her husband, Bill live in Chelsea, where they enjoy spending time with their son, Russell, and cheering for Auburn sports. 

Chris Allen2.jpg


Chris Allen

Chris holds the the title of Sexton at Southminster which is one who takes care of sacred things. Chris grew up in Birmingham and attended Alabama A&M University. In his spare time, he enjoys watching sports, and especially Alabama football.


Program Director

Robert Newman

Robert works with our children and youth, provides the children’s message in worship, and coordinates and facilitates other programs throughout the church. Robert studied at the University of Alabama, where he interned in youth ministry with First Presbyterian Tuscaloosa. Robert is a member of both the Presbyterian Youth Workers Association and the Association of Partners in Christian Education.


Robert lives in Five Points South and enjoys Alabama sports, traveling and exploring Birmingham’s vast culinary scene.


Director of Worship Arts

Kyle Henderson

Kyle provides musical leadership at our 8:15 am worship service, directs our Handbell Choir, and works with our Chancel Team to provide visual elements in worship.


Kyle lives in Helena and teaches 5th grade in Oak Mountain.



Ty Thornton

Ty plays the piano at our 8:15 am worship service, and offers many programs and concerts for the community to enjoy throughout the year. Ty studied at Bob Jones University, and holds a Masters of Arts in Piano Performance from Bob Jones University, as well as a Masters of Music in Historic Musicology and a Certificate in Early Music from Florida State University.


Financial Administrator

Lana Lash

Lana oversees Southminster’s finances and creates our monthly newsletter, The Response. Lana and her husband Marty enjoy spending time with their four adult children, as well as visiting their small farm in Cullman.




The Session is the governing body of the congregation, made up of men and women elected as elders by the congregation for three-year terms. Responsibility for the mission and work of the church is divided among committees, led by members of the Session. 

Congregational Care

Lydia Wilfong

Chris Coley

Outreach / Go Beyond

Bruce Ludwig

Brandon Bierley


George Thagard

Henry McPherson

Ray McIntosh

Faith Formation

Erika Raper

Carol Ann Cross

Welcome and Engagement

Laura McDonald

Janet Nebrig

Augusta Vos


Charles Edwards


John Liddle

Jerri Barnhill


Sheri Hall

Laura Bannon

Molly Heisler


Chuck Riggs

Patrick Riley

Moderators of the Session

Co-Pastors Rev. Dr. Tom Bryson and Rev. Leanne Pearce Reed

Co-Clerks of Session: Mark Ezekiel and Natalie Reed

Co-Treasurers: Ray McIntosh and Rick Reed

bottom of page